Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2017, 10:09 AM   #1

Help: difference between 4x4 systems

I'm a newbie, shopping for an affordable pre-owned 4x4 Sportsmobile.
I have seen vans offered that seem to offer various different 4x4 systems.

I'm not a rock-crawler guy, so long-travel isn't a big conern, but I do need good snow, mud, and soft-sand capability.....so, here's my question(s):

Are there big differences for general off-road and on-road performance and reliability between a Quigley 4x4, the Atlas system, and whatever system "Advanced" uses?
- note, I'm looking at E350 vans.

Sorry for being such a newb..

Dave

davewadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 10:48 AM   #2

Without going into detail I will add a couple more systems:

Ujoint Offroad Leaf Sprung

Expovans Coil Sprung ( Also available from Ujoint)

Agile Offroad TTB

These listed above will be somewhat superior to the others you mentioned and are preferred systems. If you are shopping used, you may want to consider buying a used stock van and having them convert it for you. If you buy any of the three you listed, you will want to contact Agile Offroad and get an improvement kit. The three you mentioned have low bumpstop clearance and very poor road manners for the most part. A proper set of shocks, springs, and steering dampeners would be required to get rid of the harsh ride and improve the bottoming out effect, over-steer and wobble.

I was a newb to this in July. Bought a used stock E350. Had Agile-Offroad convert it for me, and now have a terrific setup IFS - Twin Traction Beam type setup. I can't comment on Ujoint and Expo as to how they drive, but they are absolutely the best of the best for straight axle conversions and are active on these forums and Expedition Portal.