Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-26-2014, 09:06 PM   #1

How goes a Sportsmobile in Central & South America?

Hello Folks,

I am new to the Sportsmobile forum. For the past six months or so I've been researching the world of 4x4-capable RVs, as I am in the very preliminary stages of planning a Central/South America trip – probably 5 years away.

First, a bit of background on me. Middle-aged guy with two teenagers who will be out of the house in four-and-a-half years. I was an avid world traveler until raising kids - I'm the main caregiver, running my small business, and losing one helluva lot of money on a newly started business thanks to the 2008 (“Is it really over yet?”) recession curtailed my international adventures. I'm an avid skier, fly fisherman, backpacker, dedicated dad and car enthusiast. As I streak toward the wisdom of middle age, I'm changing my workaholic ways, too, or at least trying to.

This past summer the realization of my kids growing up and leaving kicked in, and if college expenses are not too exorbitant – yeah, right - and I can get a solid employee in place to oversee my business who would allow me 2 months off, 1 month on, 2 months off, etc., I can structure an extended southern road trip.

I have many expensive and indestructible flashlights, a well-used comfy sleeping bag, have at last discovered a light, but comfortable sleeping pad and own a very good survival knife. Now I need an international road trip vehicle.