Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-07-2011, 06:55 PM   #1

Newbie here. Is this a good deal?

Hi all
I have a chance to buy a SMB and found this forum. Looks like a Kool place.
If my lingo isn't right, sorry. I'll catch on

It is a 1995 Dodge 3500. 360ci. 189k miles. New tires, brakes. Not the poptop. No propane. All electric. Central air and heat. Fridge. Sink. Water heater. Microwave. No cooktop. Porta-potti. TV w/dvd. Generator. Probably more I can't think of.

Seems solid. Looking around seems like 5 grand is a pretty good deal. Is it?

Thanks in advance for any comments.

Beatnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:42 PM   #2

Re: Newbie here. Is this a good deal?

Does it have a fixed high top on it then?

The more important question is, does it have the amenities that YOU want? If you want a poptop, 4x4, and a diesel, then it is a terrible deal as you'll be buying twice. Without propane, it sounds like it is set up to be on shore power more often than not. Do you plan on staying primarily in RV parks or places with access to power? Without that, I don't think you'll be running your heat or AC unit.

Generically speaking without knowing more or seeing pictures, I'd say that is a reasonable price for that era of 2wd Class B, but not necessarily a smoking deal.

edit to add: WELCOME! this indeed is a cool place!
Old 12-08-2011, 01:12 PM   #3

Thanks Rockbender

Yes, fixed roof. Kinda slants back with 2 windows that maybe look like eyes.

As far as what I want. Want to get out again. Could use a cooktop, but I can get by with BBQ, Coleman stove and hotplate/elec. skillet. It does have what is "needed" to get by on.

It is equipped with a generator if not plugged in.

Reasonable is satisfactory. Of course "Smokin'" deal is always better.

Maybe I'll look at it further and hit the road if I do get it.
Old 12-08-2011, 11:06 PM   #4