Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2017, 08:17 PM   #1

Return of the Econoline 4x4

The first two production models of the E-350 cutaway SMB Classic 4x4 are moving down the line in Fresno. The fiberglass material does not feel exceptionally strong, but Brian says it is yet to be reinforced.
Attached Thumbnails
Cutaway1.jpg   Cutaway2.jpg  

TomH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 08:31 PM   #2

Yeah, that inside view doesn't seem to show a lot of framing or anything.. interesting.

I always thought you generally wanted the framing integrated into the fiberglass.. of course, I'm no expert!
rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 08:32 PM   #3

Alan said they will offer the same body with an optional high top that can mate to the cabin where the penthouse roof currently sits. This will possibly come about a year after the pop-top model is released. The cabin will be two piece setup.

Alan also met yesterday afternoon (Thur, 2-9-17) with the designer from Germany to discuss the one piece high top cabin which would have completely vertical walls, 73" from side to side at the floor as well as at the ceiling. They are in discussions re. a possible prototype. The prototype wouldn't even start construction for another year and would be subjected to a long field test period before they even considered following that with R&D for a production model. ISTM that if such a model did get the green light, it likely wouldn't be available to any of us for around 5 years. The attached link is a German Hymer on a cutaway that I don't immediately recognize. Hymer is not the company SMB is negotiating with, and this one is not on a Ford, but the cabin would probably look something like this:

https://www.hymer.com/en/models/moto...ighlights.html
Old 02-10-2017, 08:52 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by rallypanam View Post