Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-01-2009, 09:33 PM   #1

Roll Bar

Hello all, this is my first post to the forum. Ive been doing a lot of reading for several months now, but decided i had not found the answer to one thing ive been thinking of. Ive seen some sportsmobile and van rollover accident pictures and got me to wondering if anyone has made a rollbar/cage for the inside of their rigs. Seems most rollovers result in the entire cab being flattened to about the seat height inside.

Cant wait to be part of the group - once the house is purchased then comes the van - hopefully a 2010 sportsmobile...

JMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:28 AM   #2

Re: Roll Bar

There's a yahoogroups called 4x4 van. They may be able to help.

I like the idea but think it will have to be custom fabricated. I've seen some Land Rovers with cages.

Tom
bluedog225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:58 AM   #3

This may be helpful. Please post pics if you go through with it.

Tom

http://www.advanceautoparts.com/english ... 0301rb.asp
Old 09-02-2009, 09:11 AM   #4

There was a discussion several years ago on the Yahoo chat list about a rollover accident involving a SMB back east. (The details of the accident were confirmed on-line so it wasn't just hearsay.) As I recall, the freeway was icy and the van slid into a guardrail and flipped over. It might have rolled over twice but regardless, the van was resting upside down on the roof when emergency personnel arrived with the driver and passenger hanging by their seat belts. The seat belts were cut and the passengers gotten out of the van and were fine although the van was totalled.