Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2019, 08:43 PM   #1

To convert or not to convert...

Hello all,

First off thanks so much for all the knowledge and resources on this forum! I'm new to the SMB world and have been soaking everything in the last week. I'm looking to either buy a used SMB or to possibly do a conversion myself.

Here's a little background information: We live in CA, our budget is under $40k (the more under the better but we're also looking to get something that will last us a while), and we have a 1 year old daughter (we plan to continue to grow the family over the next 5 years).

Our main list of "wants" right now is this

- Really like the Sportmobile layouts/conversions. We rented one with a EB 50 layout and really liked it.
- Love the pop top and it's a must for us.
- Would like the ability to sleep 4 adults (hence the pop top)
- We're okay with the idea of a convertible bench seat in the back, but in the long run we'll probably need a better fixed seating option closer to the front with 3 point seat belts as we grow our family, so if we're building one we want to keep that in mind.
- We think we're going to need the space of an extended body
- 4x4 isn't a big priority for us.

I'm trying to price things out, so if we did decide to do our own conversion, what years/models of base vans should we be considering? We like the Ford Econoline Vans, is there any major difference in the model over the years? Should we try to find a 7.3 diesel for longevity? Or is the 5.4l gas engine fine? Any other options we should be looking for as we price out used vans for a base build? If we did our own conversion any advice for seating (trying to find the right balance between safety and functionality with a bias towards safety).