Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-11-2013, 11:15 PM   #1

Trying to decide on two potential SMB's

I'm new to the SMB scene and really, in camping in general. I camped a few times when I was a kid, but nothing really too extensive. My wife loves being outdoors and recently mentioned that we should get something to go on weekend camping trips with. She mentioned a vanagon because her parents had one when she was younger. I looked into the Westfalias, but the high price, lack of power, and somewhat specialty vehicle really didn't do it for me. Luckily I found the Sportsmobile and have spent quite a bit of time learning about these machines.

I've decided that a Transformer style rig would suit us the best. I don't need a full camping rig with closets and tons of storage and would rather have a van that could double as a utility vehicle as well. I have found a couple examples that is within my budget and need your guys' help in determining what I should consider in each vehicle.

The first van... http://sandiego.craigslist.org/csd/cto/4045098127.html
This has the 5.4, 2wd, and EB. The van has a gaucho bed in the back and electrical outlets throughout. I don't know what type of "house" electronics it has, but its there. The seats behind the driver and passenger seats are pretty interesting since they look like they've just been placed in there. None of the rear seats have seatbelts, which I would need to switch out. It has ladders, led lights, and a roof rack. My only concern so far is that there arent any windows towards the rear which may make for car sick passengers.

The second van.... http://denver.craigslist.org/cto/3933603428.html
This van has the 5.4 as well, 6 inch lift, 2wd and has a CCV top. This van has 4 captains seats and nothing else in the rear. It doesnt have any aux power, or anything extra. What I like about it is that it has lots of windows.