Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-11-2010, 07:18 PM   #1

Winter camping

Newbie here, doing research for my build.
One of my significant intended uses is for winter camping. I would really like to go with the Pop top but am curious to know of others experiences during winter.
What works and what doesn't?
How low in temperature can propane go? Is diesel for everything a better option?
Can you pop the top for general mobility and then lower it while sleeping to keep heat in? Is this a pain?
Is the standard SMB build sufficient to survive 0F, -10F, or -20F night time temps or are significant modifications necessary?
If you camp in the freezing cold, what would you do differently the second time around?

gregd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 08:51 PM   #2

Re: Winter camping

I lived in mammoth for 4 winters in a vw panel
i know a little bit

you pop up that pop up and you better have a blast furnace to heat the rig

yes, you can insulate it with reflectix etc
still will not be a toastey deal IMHO

can you do it a few nights,
sure

how many nights camping at a time
what kind of plumbing (water) you planning
how many people?

gonna Home brew or SMB factory the deal??

also, closing a poptop that has been exposed to low temps on the outside
warm temps on the inside
equals ICE
Me thinks that lowering the rig after a snowstorm or two might
cause some Pop Top Discomfort

again, snow campers with PH will chime in

my two cents, Voyager or cruiser
WELL insulated BEFORE the build

water, better insulate the tank and pipes too
and run them inside
(my suburban blows directly under my gaucho and with service hatch open, keeps things warm)

propane?
in my vw van and later my camper
the LP tank was outside
never had a lick of problem at 8,900 feet

diesal, cant spell it and dont know
someone will chime in
billwilson is offline   Reply With Quote