Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-01-2015, 07:36 PM   #1

Wiring ARB compressor switch into dash???

Hi everyone,

I'm a complete newb when it comes to automotive electricity so you'll have to be super blunt with me to help me out.

I bought UJOINT's ARB onboard air system just to air tires up and down (no lockers yet) for my 2010 V10 E350 and I'm almost done with the install.
  • I have the supply loom for the ARB compressor wired directly to the posts on the auxiliary battery on the frame rail on passenger side and I have the compressor on the frame rail on the driver side. I know this battery has a good charge and I have a separate DC outlet wired to it as well which is working.
  • The switch loom is mostly hooked up EXCEPT the only two wires I have not connected are the supply wires for the switch itself up at the dash.

I need to find a wire that is hot when the key is on or turned to ACC and I need to find a wire that is dimmable so that the ARB switch lights up with the dash. How do I do this??? I've tried turning the switch to turn on the compressor but it won't kick on yet. I assume the switch itself needs power to work? Or is the power only for the light?

I have a wiring diagram book, and I know where my fuse box is and what the different fuses do - 1-4 are empty and 42 is an upfitter switch. How do people fit "add a circuit" type products under the lid of the fuse panel? Is this what I should use? I know what the 4 wires going in to my dash dimming switch do - two are dimmable switch wires that aren't differentiated in the wiring diagram book...I suppose I could just choose one of them to connect for the dimmable wire?

Help, please!

FarmerFrederico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 10:27 PM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: Wiring ARB compressor switch into dash???