Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-22-2015, 04:36 PM   #1

Send a message via AIM to illking
Stereo isolator

I was reading the manual for my used SMB I just got. It mentions a switch that would change the stereo to house battery while parked at camp.

I cant find the switch anywhere and am assuming its an option that wasnt installed on my van. Is this a hard thing to set up? My van has amp and subwoofer so it might be too much drain on the house battery anyway, but im new to all this so I thought id ask the experts. For now ill just use my Jawbone Jambox while camped.

illking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 05:24 PM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: Stereo isolator

It is usually located by the water pump switch but with each build it may be different. With it “on”, the vehicles key does not have to be on. The way it works (IIRC) is SMB lets the stereo run off the starting battery like any normal vehicle but when parked you can activate the radio switch so the stereo runs off the house battery system. The way it switches is by activating a relay but the relay is powered off the starting system. So most of the amperage that is drawn by the stereo does get rerouted, but there is still a slight draw off the starting battery system. The problem is when you forget to turn it off and the vehicle sits for long periods of time. The slight draw can actually drain both battery systems.
At least that is what I’ve been told concerning my 2006 build. One note is that I have stereo amps that always run off the starting batteries. So no matter how I have it switched I watch not pulling my starting batteries too low while cranking out the tunes. I don’t know if SMB’s built before or after mine was done are configured the same as mine.

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2015, 06:23 PM   #3