Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2009, 08:59 AM   #1

1992 Dodge house battery not charging while vehicle running

Hello,
I have an older Sportsmobile, it is a 1992 and the house battery recieves no charge while the van is running. I have all the wiring diagrams but admit that I am no expert. I have followed all the wires to see if the proper conectoins are made and it seems like everything is hooked up right. Any thoughts on where I should begin looking for the problem ? Thanks

Mayphly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 12:16 PM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: 1992 Dodge house battery not charging while vehicle runn

Check to see if the house battery is connected to an isolator. Check voltage on both sides of the isolator. While the engine is running the voltage should be the same or close to the voltage at your starting battery usually around 14 volts. If it different by a large factor the isolator may have a bad connection or it might have failed. I assume you are not having problems with the starting system. If the isolator seems to be working then you can check it at the house battery.

Check voltage at the house battery (on the post and on the lug...it should be the same voltage as the alternator maybe a little less) with the vehicle running somewhere between 13.2 to 14.2 or in that area. If you get a different voltage at the lug compared to the terminal on the house battery, take off the battery cable, clean it up and put it back on. Recheck the voltage without the engine running then start it to see if the voltage comes up. There is a post stating corrosion is heavy at the separator...make sure it's clean and the connections look good.