Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-21-2010, 07:58 AM   #1

Garage
Impact Wrench Recommendation Needed

I have no experience with air tools, but I am thinking about getting an impact wrench for removing and replacing lug nuts. Could someone tell me what specifications I should look for in a wrench and if you have a favorite model or brand. I have an on-board Viair 450 compressor with a 2.5 gallon tank that pressurizes to 150 psi. John at Quadvan mentioned that I might need to get a regulator to bring the pressure down to around 90 psi for air tools. Is that true?

Steve in L.A.

Old 12-21-2010, 08:30 AM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: Impact Wrench Recommendation Needed

yes on the reg for the air. for the tools look at the husky stuff. cheaper then snap on and has a lifetime warranty

Most the time the Copilot is Now Sophie dog the noise maker.

2000 7.3 PS Quigley/RB30 with a 6 window poptop.
Gooseberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 07:24 PM   #3

Steve,
If you don't have air I have a Makita 18volt Impact (450 ft. lbs.) that I love. Removes lugs very fast. It's in the sporty all the time. If you put air on the van anyway the airtool is less expensive.

Paul
Old 12-21-2010, 08:29 PM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldbonesclimber
Steve,
If you don't have air I have a Makita 18volt Impact (450 ft. lbs.) that I love. Removes lugs very fast. It's in the sporty all the time. If you put air on the van anyway the airtool is less expensive.

Paul
That sounds like a much better idea Paul. Air tools need a lot of CFM, or a lot of time between use to fill the air tank back up. Down side, an inverter is needed to use the charger. Works for me.

Herb
Old 12-22-2010, 10:43 AM   #5