Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2014, 05:50 PM   #1
evy

Diesel compression test? What are my options?

Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy a E-series van and every time I find a good deal on a diesel model (6.0L or 7.3L) I can never find anyone near the seller's location to test the engines compression.

So I'm trying to find a solution to this problem, How about I test the engine myself?? here are 3 options, let me know what you think.

Keep in mind that I'm an amateur, I learn from watching and normally pretty quickly. I gotta admit I have a hard time understanding most of the replys I get here, I often have to google the abbreviations and expressions you engine gurus use, so don't go too hard on me

Option 1

Buy a basic compression test kit and do the standard test myself, how is the access to the glow plugs let's say for a 6.0L diesel?

Option 2
I saw this on Youtube, can I rent this equipment?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?featur...&v=kWvII9Vsdpw

Option 3?

The Ford dealer told me they can check the compression just by plugging the computer to the van, can I do the same thing with some sort of OBD II scanner?

Thanks again!

Old 05-12-2014, 11:06 PM   #2

Garage
Re: Diesel compression test? What are my options?

More important than compression test is to verify that all injectors are working properly. Could you bring the van to a dealer to plug the tester in ?
Old 05-12-2014, 11:10 PM   #3
evy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pschitt
More important than compression test is to verify that all injectors are working properly. Could you bring the van to a dealer to plug the tester in ?
All the Ford dealers I called this morning are booked solid till may 30th.
The van will probably be sold by then...
Old 05-12-2014, 11:20 PM   #4