Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2014, 01:01 PM   #1

Rear Captains Chairs

I am currently in the early design stages of my SMB, which will be more people hauler than stealth camper as I have 4 small children that I drag all over Texas enjoying the great outdoors.

That being said I am tossing around the idea of building around 4 rear captains chairs to provide forward facing seating while preserving leg room and a center aisle to access the back where I plan to stack other amenities.

Does anyone have any experience with multiple rows of captains chairs, that would care to share pros and cons?

All advice is welcome as I am a newbie to the SMB world, other than drooling over the SMB and OutsideVan galleries....

caseylee55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 05:59 PM   #2

Re: Rear Captains Chairs

We added a third captains chair on the passenger side just inside the barn doors of our SMB. I had it installed by Cyclevan in NJ, on a removable swivel base. I found the seat on CL for $100 and the pedestal, removable seatbelt and installation cost around $600. The swivel base was a waste of money as we have never used that function in our van, but depending on your interior build might be worth it. Having it removable is definitely worth it for flexibility of cargo carrying, etc.
BrianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 11:59 AM   #3