Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-30-2009, 09:26 PM   #1

WTB Strong 4x4 Van for Buildout

Hello, I'm a noob. I've been lurking a few days and doing a fair amount of research on Sportsmobiles.

My other half and I are thinking that we'd like to try a custom built out ourselves. I'm looking for a good base van.

I'm looking for something that will perform well off road in particular. To that end, I'd rather find something with a shorter wheel base. Obviously 4x4 is a must. I would be stoked to find something with lockers and bumpers.

I'd love a diesel. There's a Ford 7L Diesel with Quigley 4x4 Sportsmobile just south of me in Denver. I really wish it was just the van and half the price.

High mileage is fine so long as the machine is mechanically solid. Exterior damage is also fine, it doesn't need to look new.

I can be reached via email at @gmail.com with my forum handle in front.

I'm thank'n ya.

Zaskoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:23 AM   #2

Re: WTB Strong 4x4 Van for Buildout

If you didn't lie about your email, you can also be reached through the email button without revealing your address.

Incidentially, the Ford vans all have the same wheelbase and despite that I would argue that a longer wheelbase is better offroad. You may be thinking about the clearance, since the wheels are in the same place the rear overhangs more in the EB.

Even so I wouldn't let that stop you, if you find a good EB van at your price, don't pass it up for an RB. Nobody I've seen crabbing about how they wish they had gone RB... I'm biased of course because I went EB even though I was dead-set on an RB at the beginning.

Good luck, we've seen lots of droolworthy builds in the Homemade / Ground Up section!
Old 10-01-2009, 07:51 PM   #3