Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-28-2015, 11:11 AM   #1
Dia

Re: Two nights in WA / Spokane area - help me plan?

ETA: Now taking suggestions for WA in general. North Cascades, maybe? What else ya got?

Hi, all!

I have to be at a conference in Spokane in mid to late August. Glacier Nat'l Park is only four hours away, so I'm trying to sneak a couple of extra nights into my itinerary.

So far, the plan is to drive up early, leave Spokane in the morning (day one), spend two nights in the park, then drive back to Spokane for the conference on day three.

So if all I have is two nights and one full day, where should I camp and what should I see? I'm still an inexperienced driver where Lola is concerned, so is the Going to the Sun road going to freak me right out?

Many thanks for your kind assistance.

Old 04-28-2015, 01:59 PM   #2

Re: Two nights in Glacier - help me plan?

I've tagged on "trip" days to business trips many times, including to Glacier from a biz trip to Helena. If you can, I'd suggest adding the days *after* the conference, not before. It makes things much less stressful when you don't have to worry about getting to the conference on time, the possibility of a breakdown, or whatever. I found that when I did my vacation days before the meeting I had to go to I wasn't always able to focus on having fun.

BTW, are you sure it's only four hours to Glacier from Spokane? Google shows it as almost five, and I even think that's being optimistic.