Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2021, 01:37 PM   #1

1990 e350 pathfinder 4x4 needs some new wheels

I have a new to me 1990 e350 4x4 and the tires rub on the leaf springs when turning. I plan on keeping the 33" tire size down the road, current tires are old though. Anyways Im wondering if anyone here can shed some light onto what offset I should be looking at for the Ford. Im new to the platform, coming from the yota world. Thinking Ill end up with a simple steel wheel either 15", 16" or 17". The aluminum wheels that are on it are 16.5" and Im not sure if they were put on for aesthetics from the 90's or maybe in conjuncture to fit the brakes?
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_3387.jpg  

Jasonred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 02:20 PM   #2

Not sure how different the previous gen E-series are, but on the current generation E-series (92 and up) UJoint Offroad recommends 17" wheels with 4.5" backspacing (somewhere around 0mm offset depending on rim width). I think the 17" diameter is for brake clearance as you stated, but the brake size seems to differ depending on what front axle you're running.

Seems like the "cheap" wheels everyone runs is the Pro Comp 69 Vintage, which comes in both a 8 on 6.5" and 8 on 170mm bolt pattern.

https://www.procompusa.com/products/...-alloy-wheels/

Badass van, by the way! Love that body style. Part of me wishes I could keep the OEM alloy wheels on my van, but that would require converting the front hubs back to the 8 on 6.5" bolt pattern.
motovan_mn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2021, 03:42 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by motovan_mn View Post