Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-15-2011, 10:22 AM   #1

4x4 van as daily driver?

Hi All - I've been lurking for a while and as a "not yet owner", I have learned a ton about these vans by reading this great board. I've been considering a 4x4 van for 3-4 years and have been getting the itch pretty bad in the last few months. If you don't mind, can you answer some newbie questions?

Do any of you use your rig as a daily driver? Any advice for someone considering that?
What is the "real world" MPG for your rig?
In a new rig, is the Ford V-10 that much better than the V-8? (I am told there is no longer a Diesel option from Ford )
When starting from scratch, what would you list as absolute "must have" options?

My story: I need a vehicle which will handle me, my wife, 5 year old twins and a 200lb. dog for daily driving needs and interstate road trips (approx 35k mi per year). I live in mild snow climate but I have a very steep driveway so 4x4 is a must for all our vehicles. I have an old BMW that I need to tow around occasionally. We would like to start basic adventuring/camping but don't need anything "hard core" (YET ) Basically, I need a do it all vehicle and I think a 4x4 van is the way to go. I'm leaning towards the QuadVan over the SMB. I'm open to any and all suggestions/warnings/encouragements!

TIA!

FutureVanGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 11:35 AM   #2

Re: 4x4 van as daily driver?

A QuadVan (or even SMB) 4x4 van is actually easier to drive in town because they turn sharper than a 2wd. The QuadVans are pretty close to a Chevy Tahoe for turning circle. And most surprising, the QuadVans 4x4 rides better than 2wd.