Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2010, 03:25 PM   #1

Buying a 4x4 SMB

I'm in the process of selling my fully restored and off-road built 1989 Syncro and buying a 2010 Ford E-350 diesel, a pre-EPA diesel that will allow me to travel south of the border. The Sync is cool but...

I was up at "SMB west" offices on Monday and I am planning to build out this van very similar to the 4x4 vans seen throughout the gallery here at SMBF. My initial question is, is there anything on a general level that I should be mindful of as I proceed with the ordering process with SMB west? They seem like a great operation and I don't anticipate any issues but I happened up on Alan's rig with him that was being built and the installers had already put in a wrong color wall panel. Do you ask for weekly visual updates or cross your fingers?

Secondly, I am not a real mechanically oriented guy and so some of the details are unclear to me. For example, the Espar Hydronic and flat plate. I will be running propane in the van can. Can anyone tell me the real advantage of this feature, is it luxury or will it add time to the van's life like I understand the Amsoil double fuel system will?

And finally, I guess I'm looking for any feedback that people on the other side of ordering a van said, damn, I wish I had ordered or not ordered this or that.

gratzi

Syncronaught is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:30 PM   #2

Re: Buying a 4x4 SMB

Welcome buddy

I bailed on my '84 Westy
sad but true

However couldnt be happier

read alot here, then start to narrow down your build list and then we can help you detail it out

bw
billwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 05:21 PM   #3
Site Team