Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2015, 10:45 AM   #1

Differential Problems - Please advise

I'm far from home and the rear end is going out. Again. I'm done messing with it and want to upgrade to a full float rear axle. But not this week and not in Bozeman Mt.

Am I crazy to think that I can pull the rear drive line, strap it to the roof and drive 1k mi home in "front wheel drive". ?? This is a 2002 e350 Quigley.

Please advise if you see a flaw in my plan! !

Old 07-05-2015, 11:32 AM   #2

Re: Differential Problems - Please advise

I'm not an expert but you *might* be able to pull pinion shaft out and then front wheel drive it home.

Just pulling the driveshaft isn't going to help too much unless the noises go away while coasting. You still run the risk of the unit locking up. Hopefully it would just strip the gear set before that happens.

Again, I'm no expert. And I'd probably drive it until it figured itself out, especially since you're going to replace the whole axle.

Good luck.
Ridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 11:34 AM   #3

Probably not the most ideal situation, but I've seen it done before! Is your transfer case slip yoke or fixed yoke at the rear? If it is fixed yoke, I'd personally go for it. If it is slip yoke, you are going to have a hard time keeping the fluid in the t-case with the rear shaft out. I had a plastic plug that I purchased from an auto parts store years ago just for that purpose, though I would definitely not expect it to survive extended highway driving.

Do you know what exactly is failing? Everything in the rear end will still be rotating even though there won't be any torque going to it, so there is still the likelyhood that the part might fail even with the driveline removed.
TheLetterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 11:35 AM   #4