Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-15-2019, 08:25 AM   #1

Express 3500 diesel with awd components?

Hi, I'm a complete noob to all this an have some questions, so please bear with me. I'm looking to build a camper van that can pull my 30ft boat. Ive been looking at the express 3500 with the Duramax. Only thing It doesn't have is 4x4. I know they have some really nice and really expensive conversions out there. My question is will the awd components from the 1500 bolt on to the 3500 frame? I'm not looking to go off road. Just don't want to slip on wet and slimey boat ramps.

Torres81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 09:50 AM   #2

No. Different transmission (4/6L80 in the 3500 vs the 4/6L60 in the 1500), and the AWD clutch packs are very light duty. This first time you get wheel slip on the boat ramp, you'd probably burn up the clutches pulling that much weight. And the 1500-series front A-arms and knuckles are lighter too. They won't hold up to the ~4,400 pounds you got on your front axle.
Old 11-15-2019, 10:57 AM   #3

I'd recommend checking out Weldtec Designs. They have a torsion bar independent front end option that is the probably going to be the best and most cost effective option. I think they will ship a kit for you to install locally, but don't quote me on that. Worth an inquiry.
Quigley with Agile RIP, 6.0 PSD
WhitH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 03:18 PM   #4

Good info. I would get the transfer case that works with 4/6L80. From what I have read the front diff on the awd is full time diff. Would the transfer case line up on the same side as the awd front diff? Could I beef up the A-arms and springs? The weldtec stuff is really nice. But damn it's expensive.
Old 11-15-2019, 03:51 PM   #5