Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2014, 04:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

So I'm a total noob when it comes to locking hubs, and I recently purchased a 09 E-350 quigley. All the locking hubs I've seen are fairly obvious, but I'm stumped on how to lock these. Anyone have any ideas? All of my hubs look like this.
Attached Thumbnails
hubs.jpg  
__________________

freedomseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 05:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,453
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

They must be electronic (push button). It should be on the dash somewhere. I doubt anyone would be foolish enough to cover up the front locks with a center cap, but I suppose it's possible. Do you have a shifter in the floor at all for the transfer case?
__________________

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 05:37 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

Thanks for the fast response! I do have a shifter on the floor for the transfer case. The only thing I can find on the dash is a 4x4 light underneath my headlight dial, but I can't find any buttons that look helpful.

Maybe I'll try to pop the caps off to see if there's something underneath...
freedomseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 08:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,453
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

Very strange. I'm no expert but someone here will know. Every Quigley I've ever seen has a floor shifter and manual hubs. It would be pretty crazy if they covered the front hub locks with a cap. Just FYI, you will most likely have to pull the wheel off and the cap comes off from the rear. Good luck!

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 08:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 466
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

Those caps just pull off from the outside, I have the same ones. Might as well have a look.
TheLetterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 08:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
WhitH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 883
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

Quigley may have an automatic option but I'm not sure. Call them or shoot them an email, they will let you know if you give them your VIN. They've always been pretty responsive to me in the past.
__________________
2015 Chevy Express 3500 Duramax
w/ Quigley 4x4 & Agile Fox shocks
Sold 2005 E350 Chateau
Quigley with Agile RIP, 6.0 PSD
WhitH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 07:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 75
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

I guarantee you have locking hubs under there. I had to cut my hub caps with a hole saw in order to get to my locking hubs with my new wheels and still use the hub caps.
scottman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 10:39 PM   #8
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,871
Garage
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

Don't I see a little knob or two on those?



what is that on the cover plate?
Attached Thumbnails
hubs.jpg  
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 08:13 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 6
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb
Don't I see a little knob or two on those?



what is that on the cover plate?
I think that's actually a reflection of the person's legs who took the picture. I know it's hard to see with the small picture I have, but they're just real clean in that photo.

Thanks everyone for the ideas of what might be going on. I contacted Quigley and they also told me that they should be underneath the hub cap covers. I can take the cap part off with an allen wrench, but they make the allen screws out of some cheap plastic like material, so half of them are already stripped. I'll have to get a stripped screw remover bit from the hardware store before I can check further, but I'm feeling a lot better about the situation now. You guys rock.
freedomseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 08:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 75
Re: How do I lock my hubs if there's no visible dial?

FYI, only two of those allen bolts are real on each, the others are decorative. The real ones will be steel and not plastic.
__________________

scottman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×