Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-12-2016, 10:38 AM   #1

Opinions on Salem Kroger 4x4

Hi All,
This is my first post on the forum and I was hoping to get some thoughts about the Salem Kroger 4x4 conversions. Does anyone have one? Positives and negatives? Are they reliable or have problems? Any info members could provide would be helpful.
My wife and I have been looking for a 4x4 Sportmobile for about a year and have come across one with the Salem Kroger 4x4. I am not a mechanical guy and can do little more then change the oil, so the reliability of the van is very important to us. The one we are looking at is a Sportmobile set up, and is the E350, a 2004 gas 5.4 V8 with about 90k miles.
Hopefully we can find something we like and this may be the one, so any thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Dave

Dhale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 11:31 AM   #2

You can do better. They use short leaf springs which results in a rough ride, and they like to undersize their axles. Good chance it only has a Dana 44 under there. Some owners even ended up with Kin-pin axles, which must have been remanufactured off something way older, since ball joints have been standard since the 90s. And because of the smaller axles, they don't get the newer/bigger brakes that come on the Dana 60.

They also have done some coil-spring builds I think, but I haven't spoken with any of the owners of those, and I don't know which axle they use for that setup.
Old 01-12-2016, 12:07 PM   #3

Thanks for that info. the description of the conversion was "Solid Dana Super 60 axle, Custom Suspension Package, Heavy Duty Rear Leaf Springs for Heavy Loads..."
That means it does have the lager axle then you thought, correct? if so, does that change your opinion or does it just mean it`s a little better then you thought?