Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-01-2010, 07:49 PM   #1

V10 Longevity??

Hey all,

Who has put some serious miles on the Ford V10 engine? Any complaints? Any good comments? I was looking at a 7-8 year old 350 van that has almost 150k on it.

Assuming a unit has been well taken care of with regular attention, is there any reason a V10 couldn't rack up 1/4 million?

I know I've seen contractor vans out ther with 200-300k but that's not to say anything of the past mechanical work, and I guess I don't know which engines would have been in the ones that I've seen with those high miles.

THANKS

jwirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:16 PM   #2
Site Team

Re: V10 Longevity??

The V10 has a great rep from what I've heard, though I have no firsthand experience.

Herb
Old 03-01-2010, 09:51 PM   #3

My V10 has 270,000 miles on it, and runs great.

Only repairs have been the starter relay and both forward oxygen sensors (which I think were a casualty of silicone contamination since they went out at the same time shortly after the Banks PowerPack install.)

For the past few years, 90%+ of my miles have been towing. I tow up to 18,000 pounds with it, which is over the OEM GCWR but I have upped the power with the Banks PowerPack and Diablo Predator tuner, changed it to a dually, changed differential to 4.56 Dana 70 gears, and upgraded the brakes accordingly.

Part of my tuning has involved raising the shift points and electronic rev limiter. It will sing along at 5500 for 15-20 minutes at a time without complaint. This allows me to maintain 65 on any mountain Interstate pass with a 12,000+ pound load.

The only negative side effect of the Predator tuner has been shorter spark plug life. Double Platinum plugs only last about 70,000 miles before the electrode is worn away. I put in iridium plugs this last time so hopefully they will last longer.