Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2017, 11:09 AM   #1

Adding (pre)Heat for diesel engines in cold climates

Folks, I bought my Sprinter off the lot and didn't get to go through the options etc the way I might have for a new purchase.

The factory model can have Option H12: "Fuel-Fired Pre-Heater/Booster".

There are a number of threads discussing if this should be in the initial order. I fall in the camp of "yup, I'd have got that" but since I don't have it... this thread is to discuss what my options might be. I'm new to these vans so I'm learning as I go.

I'm interested/worried about being stranded somewhere because the van won't start or run due to cold temps. I will absolutely have a cabin heater for camping comfort regardless.

1) Is it reasonable to have a single heater do double duty and provide both cabin heat as well as pre-heat the engine? Or should I really be thinking of these as distinct issues (have two independent heaters)? Should I be linking these decisions?

2) Is it even possible to retro-fit H12 or equivalent given that the van wasn't ordered that way. I don't know where to start. I think this is a common concept that the the Espar D5 etc is designed for this use case -- its just a matter of buying and installing relatively common components?

3) If the issue is gelling of diesel fuel (rather than just cold running efficient engines) do I need to worry about how the heater itself it fueled? Why don't we hear/see threads about people using propane for their coolant and/or cabin heaters? Again; I'm new to diesel so maybe this is a concern for folks in Alaska but not "temperate" Colorado (where I am)?

Thanks

Old 06-29-2017, 02:59 PM   #2

Looks like cold starts aren't a real big problem, but a pre-heater would reduce idle time before driving.

2013 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2500 First Drive - Truck Trend