Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2017, 07:50 PM   #381

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomH View Post

Biological perspective: Denim is organic in the true definition of the word.

Mathematically, the concentration of water moisture in wet denim is constant while the concentration in Thinsulate is quadratic.

Hi Tom,

While I didn't choose denim as an insulator, it shouldn't be confused with just cotton. Per the Ultratouch website, their denim is 80% natural fibers and treated for flame retardant, anti-microbials etc. it's not the same as a wet t-shirt in the rain.

Some of your statements, while very "scientificish", were hard follow (and I'm a scientist who uses math and physics for a living). For example, concentration is independent of a mathematic function; if it's saturated, it's just full of water. If you were trying to describe how water acts in a material like thinsulate, "quadratic" is a mathematical function that could describe many outcomes, such as linear or parabolic, so I'm unsure what you were trying to say about thinsulate.

Regards,
Dazed and confused

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Beached is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 09:59 PM   #382

Let's say you take a cotton sock from a person who has been hiking and you graph the moisture concentration from the warm side (inside) to the cold side (outside), where the value of x is moisture concentration and y is the distance from the warm side, the x value will remain constant all the way across, creating a horizontal line across the Cartesian graph.

If you do the same thing with a wool sock, you start barely above (0,0) and you wind up with a non-linear function whose upward curve increases logarithmically as you approach the cold side. Rather than quadratic, I should have said non-linear.