Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-27-2015, 06:04 PM   #1

Garage
Hole in roof under Sprinter penthouse...

Seems we can't win--popped the top to clean the top and found this hole in the back of the roof--looks like the weld has cracked? Does anyone else who has a penthouse have this hole and if so, is it sealed/welded correctly and solid? Picked up in May, 9K miles on it.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1026.jpg  

hildems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 07:31 AM   #2

I have no knowledge of sprinter roofs, but I'd be calling SMB West asap... that looks unacceptable!
rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 07:40 AM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by rallypanam View Post
I have no knowledge of sprinter roofs, but I'd be calling SMB West asap... that looks unacceptable!
Yeah, that doesn't really qualify as just an 'oops'. Mistakes happen, but if they cut that hole and didn't tell you about it and then try to make things right (discount or credit towards some parts or service), that's just wrong.

Politely call them out on it (privately), and see what they have to say.

IMO, they need to completely rethink that cap solution, and go with something under compression, and then to do it right, they should probably spray your entire roof with bedliner.

Herb
Old 12-28-2015, 07:49 AM   #4
REF

Send a message via MSN to REF
Wow!...yes, that doesn't look right at all. There seems to be a disk shape on the other side of the roof too, it looks factory, but can't tell and I haven't poked around on the roofs of any sprinters. Does that one on the other side look cut and secured? Or factory sealed? It may be SMB had to make ports to access installing the lock downs for the top? Does that line up? A call to SMBW is in order either way. GL

2003 Ford E-350 SMB RB-50
7.3L w/DP tuner & 4" exhaust
Quigley 4X4 (heavily modified)