Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2011, 04:06 PM   #1

2003 GMC Headlight Flicker

Hey - I'm just back from my shakedown run in a newly acquired 2003 GMC Sportsmobile, and I'm tracking down a few things that have cropped up. The first of which is that the headlights will flicker through a few different levels of brightness as you drive along at night. You get a new brightness about every 3-5 seconds - sometimes longer intervals.

I'm new to owning an Isolator but having read the post from Dave Boyer, I'm wondering if what I'm seeing is the isolator switching back and forth between the two batteries.

The charging system appears to be working - it starts and it's charging the house battery. The van has 73k, and the lifeline it came with was shot. I have a smaller 32 aH AGM in there now.

I'm open to any thoughts on what else it might be.

Thanks -

Steve

freezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 07:38 AM   #2

Re: 2003 GMC Headlight Flicker

Isolator and Separator are two different things. The an isolator looks like a brick, separator looks like a small can and they function differently. Isolator might be in your engine compartment, separator is probably inside.

Either one can be disconnected to eliminate it as a problem. The separator also clicks, but I'm pretty sure a 2003 would have an isolator.

Also check your voltage on both sides, while running and not. The dash power ports should be on the van battery, and the ones in back on the house- one of those cheap plugin volt readers should tell you if the voltage in the system is fluctuating with the lights.
Old 03-15-2011, 05:29 PM   #3
Site Team

Garage