Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-10-2008, 11:40 AM   #1

PHT Re-finish

Greeting SMBers,

I recently purchased an 89 SMB and have found may way to this forum. I have never been a member of a forum but found the posts here very informative and enjoy hearing from those that are as enthusiatic about SMB living as I am.

Unfortunately the SMB that I aquired needs to have the PHT cleaned up a bit. The prvious owner/s spray painted (with a can) over the top (not that pretty looking).

There are some chips on the top edge as well some minor cracking in the gel coat.

I have some experience with autobody repair as I have done some amatuer restoration on a few cars I have owned (no fiberglass though).

I spoke with SMB and the stated that there should be no problem treating this like any other marine application.

I was wondering if anyone has done this type of work on a PHT or has any suggestions.

Thanks in advance! I look forward to conversing with everyone.

jakdaddy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 01:37 PM   #2

As far as chips, working with fiberglass is easy and can be messy. You just have to go for it (making sure to protect items that you do not wish to have fiberglass resin on, including your hands and the SMB roof). Sorry I couldn't be of more help, but its an on-the-job training sort of deal (working with fiberglass). Ah, reminds me of my first time working with fiberglass (fixing the damged header panel on my bitch'n Camero in highschool).....Yea, I had a Camero in highschool.....Yea, I was a loser.
Old 07-10-2008, 07:21 PM   #3

Send a message via AIM to Skywagon
Jak-