Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2009, 07:19 PM   #1

Voyager VS. Penthouse top if it's rainy and hot?

Newbie here, debating on whether to get Voyager vs. PH top. Opinions please?

Full-timing for a while, I may be in country for weeks or months where it can rain a lot or very hard rain. I'm sure the Voyager top must be preferable to the penthouse top in that respect. So I'm thinking that outweighs the penthouse having such good ventilation and its lower profile?

Being in warm/hot weather, I'd love the great ventilation in PH; however wouldn't it be kind of a pain if it's raining a lot? I suppose you always must get it dried out afterwards?, and worry about leaks or having to get up close windows?

As an extreme example, if you were in tropical jungle wouldn't the penthouse quickly get dampness or leaking problems from being wet a lot? As I said, newbie to SMB and unsure how well PH does in the rain. I'm sure PH could be fine or preferable other places.

Thanks!

jdv2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 03:17 PM   #2

Re: Voyager VS. Penthouse top if it's rainy and hot?

Our penthouse has been in lots of rain with out any problems. We did take the top down twice in very high winds, but rain was no problem.

DABEE a 2006 Ford EB250 with penthouse top.
Life Is Good.
danamrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:21 PM   #3

We can keep the upper part of the PH windows un-zipped when it rains, as the PH overhang doesn't let the rain in. The ventilation is very good also. Good luck on your decision!

Edie
Edie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 09:36 AM   #4

Garage

I like to stand and look out the fully open PH windows when it rains. I always feel dry and happy unless it's one of those storms with horizontal rain. I'm in Southern California, so we treat rain like a national holiday.
Old 07-11-2009, 10:40 AM   #5