Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-27-2014, 08:50 AM   #1

which van to buy and an intro

I apologize if this is the wrong place for this post but I am new here and still trying to figure things out. I am a travel nurse and looking to convert a cargo can into a camper that I can live in, possibly not full time if I can find assignments close to friends and relatives. But if I am forced to be away from people I can stay with I want something I can live in, probably an RV park or campground where I will have access to a shower and bathroom.
So here is my initial idea. I want to have a bed with storage underneath, cabinet/closet space beside the bed and a counter top area behind the drivers seat with room for small sink, propane camp stove and some cabinet space underneath (probably put propane tank and grey water under counter too). Im not sure what I will do about A/C and or heat because I am hoping to stay in more temperate climates as I move around and not be in temperatures that are too extreme. Possibly looking into solar but that may be something to do down the road.

So the vehicle I was looking at is a 2008 ford e-250 3.5 V6 FI SOHC. That seams to be the most common cargo van that I can find in my price range of under $10,000. Would the e-250 be a large enough platform to build what I want into or would I have to go with an e-350? I am really just getting started here and am not set in my ways with anything so any help would be greatly appreciated. I have been browsing this form for a day or so and it looks like this is the place to be for a cargo van conversion.

Thank you in advance for any helpful information and I look forward to posting here more with my progress.

photocodo

photocodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 10:24 AM   #2

Re: which van to buy and an intro