Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2015, 08:37 AM   #1

Towing a Fiat 500 Question

I'm wondering if I need to get the auxiliary braking system to two a 2015 Fiat 500 Sport (GW 2300 lbs) behind my 2014 Ford E-150 Sportmobile? I also want advice about what towbar and lighting harness makes the most sense, I've searched the web and found Fiat 500 Sport specified Blue Ox baseplates, towbar and lighting harness. Thanks for any advice, I'm completely new to towing a vehicle. SC

Ann Arbor, MI 48103
(734) 276-5715
Scamron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 08:50 AM   #2

Garage
Re: Towing a Fiat 500 Question

edited and content removed...

while my intentions were good, my comprehension skills are lacking. my apologies carry on folks.
"understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of your car, oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of your car, horsepower is how hard your car hits the wall, and torque is how far your car moves the wall."
shenrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 09:20 AM   #3

It is a manual transmission. I've seen in some RV towing guide that it's safe to tow, whereas the auto trans is in advisable to tow.
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
(734) 276-5715
Old 09-15-2015, 09:51 AM   #4

I recently purchased a tent trailer that weighs about 2500lbs dry. It has electric brakes and my van is equipped with a brake controller. When coming to a an abrupt stop, I can definitely feel its behind me and it takes a little longer to stop when going more than 50mph. I'll need to adjust my brake controller to get it dialed in, but I guess my point is that even at around 2500lbs, you'll want extra braking power.