Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2021, 07:39 PM   #1

SOLD: 2008 RB Sportsmobile Penthouse. Quigley 4x4, 61kMiles, $60K

2008 Sportsmobile E-150 Regular Body with E-350 Suspension rear springs.
Quigley 4wd
5.4L GASOLINE engine
VIN: 1FMNE11L58DA37311
61044 miles
$60,000
Currently smogged for California. Van is located San Clemente, CA.
Email or text
dixoncj@icloud.com
Call 843-822-5710

About the van/seller.

I’m a journalist by trade and a longtimer on the SMB forum. I run a side business working with buyers to find the right van. Through the years, that’s included the buildout of two diesel Sportsmobiles and a 4wd VW Syncro camper for Jimmy Buffett. One of my clients bought this van recently in San Diego with the intention of a significant upfit. After going back and forth over it and looking at a long upfit timeframe, he simply decided he needs a bigger van for his family -- sooner. So we decided to sell this rig. We’re not looking to gouge anyone on this sale, but just to get back what we’ve put in it to this point. We vetted it thoroughly before purchase.

This is a beautiful, rust-free California van with a unique layout. It seats 7 with shoulder belts. The rear seat can be removed to give center aisle access to the galley or to create a sleeping area. It has rear air conditioning, a neat Sportsmobile rear galley and everything works VERY WELL except the TV system - which is getting dated anyway.

The van is being kept at Girard awnings in San Clemente. I'll handle communications on the sale (I'm on the east coast). The showings will be handled by Girard manager Bill Park who oversaw caretaking of Jimmy Buffett’s California Sportsmobile for years. I'm happy to provide personal references, including the Colorado buyer of Jimmy's last van. I think at least a couple of longtimers on this forum might vouch for me as well. - Thanks for taking a look!