Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-28-2009, 03:23 PM   #1

Any Advice Appreciated....

I'm a photographer who has decided to take a few years off to travel and photograph the National Parks (US and Can). In the month or so that I've been doing research on a suitable vehicle I've become pretty confused. I am willing to spend 35-40K and will be traveling alone 90% of the time. Tell me anything you think I should know....also, where should I look to buy the vehicle? Is there a reputable seller that anyone knows about? Joe.

joerosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 05:18 PM   #2

Re: Any Advice Appreciated....

Did you look in the classifieds on this forum? VegHed has a nice van in your price range. And it is a reliable 7.3 PSD.

Mike
2012 E250 Hitop camper
Ford_6L_E350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 06:03 PM   #3

I did see that but I thought the mileage seemed high...but then again I'm pretty ignorant about diesel engines. In general how much do you think a diesel vs. gas engine adds to the value? How about 4x4 vs. 2wd? I instinctively thought I would go with something like a Ford E250, gas, 2wd model...maybe I should think otherwise? Thanks for your help...
Old 12-28-2009, 06:59 PM   #4

If you don't think you will need 4wd and you know you will be living in the van it might be worth looking at a Sprinter based model. You will get more room especially since you have photo gear and need a workspace for post production.

On the diesel thing it really comes into play where you plan to drive lots of miles (your case) and might idle for extended periods for electric or heat/cool....might be you also.

Keep us posted, look at a national craigslist search, ebay, forums and google for something.
Old 12-28-2009, 07:11 PM   #5

2wd vs. 4wd depends on your needs and useage.