Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-15-2010, 11:28 AM   #1

Baja Medical Emergency, Hooked in to Help

If you ever have been in a serious backcountry medical situation then you know the feeling of intense pressure of having every ones eyes on you. Well now imagine taking it up a notch and being in another country, having young men with machine guns watching closely and a screaming nine year old girl just inches from your ears.

This was my recent experience in Baja Mexico when we were stopped at a Federal checkpoint outside of Gonzaga Bay. A fisherman I had met the day before was there and knew I was some sort of medical person, the young men with big guns in uniforms ask if we would help and out of a Toyota comes a young father and his nine year old daughter holding her wrist.
Being an Intensive Care Nurse I am often involved in life and death situations, chest compressions, shocking people, drugs, and more. Yet this all happens in the safety and security of a huge urban hospital with plenty of doctors, nurses, respiratory therapist and a ample stock of the modern whiz bang machines we all know and love. But since I often find myself in remote areas, I am also a Wilderness EMT and carry a large, well stocked Adventure Medical Kit.
On this particular Disabled Explorers Adventure our double amputee participant has First Responder Training and one of our volunteers is a Paramedic. So with the knowledge that I had solid backup, my Spot Satellite Messenger, and a couple of big First Aid kits in our group I jumped down from the Sportsmobile W.A.V.E. (wheelchair accessible van for expeditions).