Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-15-2009, 10:57 PM   #1

Send a message via MSN to SuperSuz
Wow! I own a Sportsmobile!!! And it's Super!

I’ve been jonesing for a camper van for about three years now. Looking at the different models out there, I finally, I found one in San Diego for a great price from a family who needed a bigger RV. Not only was it a great price, but it was oine of those Sportsmobile types that I have been dreaming about but thought I could not presently afford one. I was wrong about that. I found this deal and I acted quickly. I live in the Bay Area and the van was bought in the San Diego area with the help of a good friend, River Rat, who lives in the seller’s area. In one of his past lives, he was a mechanic and I could not have done this so well (possibly not at all) without his help. You’ll want to know the basics about this van. It’s a 1994 Dodge Ram 250 and it needed some work to get it reliable.

The van was in pretty good condition when I bought it. This is what we had to work with:
77,000 miles
Power doors/locks
Cruise control
5.2L V8
Oversized All Terrain tires
Sportsmobile pantry, long cabinet, porta-potty cabinet with porta-potty, sink and counter with underneath cabinet, two pull-out couches that face each other and make out to be a van-wide bed when fully extended, the pop-up canvas top with the three-pad bunk-bed assembly, degraded water tank and grey water system, two-wheel drive (not the 4-wheel), and a crappy stereo.

First, my River Rat went to work taking these “before” pictures.

Old 06-15-2009, 11:02 PM   #2

Re: Wow! I own a Sportsmobile!!! And it's Super!