Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2009, 04:51 PM   #1

Going to Wolf Creek, OR [added Trip Report]

I'm thinking about heading out to Wolf Creek, OR from Denver and right back again. I've got less than a day's business there that I've been putting off for a few years now, and since I'm currently laid up I'm thinking the week driving round trip wouldn't be much worse than wasting it in front of the TV...

Anyway the route looks like it would be I-84 to US-26 above Eugene OR and then down to Wolf Creek. On the way back I might do US-20 or even OR-140 into Northern Nevada (that's assuming I'm feeling really good about driving and want to drag my heels a bit coming back!).

Any suggestions on route? Which is faster, straighter, and or prettier: US-20 or US-26 to get through Oregon? I can't see doing I-80 or 84 all the way out because it is so far from Sacremento and Portland.

Old 07-26-2009, 03:51 PM   #2

Re: Going to Wolf Creek, OR

Jage,
We were just in the area last week and spent a lot of time around those parts over the years.
If your coming west from Ontario you can take 20 or 26 and then on to Bend. After that 20 or 126 over the Cascades. Then boring I5
With some time 26 is a nice drive and a lot of things to see. The John Day Fossil Beds, Painted Hills, forgotten little towns but a great drive.
Central and Eastern Oregon is full of history and incredible landscapes.
140 is a nice way east too Klamath Lake is nice in the summer.
77 Orig Bronco in rebuild mode "uncut"
76 Orig Bronco rebuilt & driven weekly
71 Orig Bronco rebuilt & 4sale gots everything on it
Owned a jimmy once for about 6 months.
https://www.tropicalgardensofmaui.com
https://www.mauicabins.com
twitter @runnin6mpg
Mahukaawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 02:43 PM   #3