RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2010, 02:27 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

Howdy!
I'm thinking of trying to access the back of my in-dash stereo to add a line in for an i-Pod. It looks like it might be an ordeal. Can anyone share any insight, tips, or just talk me out of messing with it? Thanks!

Rene
__________________

crustyfish1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 03:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
carringb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 4,854
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

It's not too bad. And yes it's worth it.
__________________

__________________
2000 E450 dually V10 wagon
carringb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 08:39 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carmel Valley, CA
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to Skywagon
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

Don't most in-dash radios just pop out with the proper little tool/gizmo?
Bill
__________________
2008 RB 50 Pueblo gold, Diesel, 4X4, Aluminess
NO2B
Skywagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 10:29 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

It's been years since I've messed with any car audio stuff, but now that you mention it, the 'thingy' trick sounds familiar. I'll have to check it out. Now I'll have to go and find my 'thingy'. (Doc said it would fall off if I played with it too much so I put it in a safe place...)
crustyfish1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 11:27 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
panion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tucson
Posts: 185
in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

In my van (2001) just pull the dog house and the stereos backside is exposed.

For my double din stereo it's two thingys. "U" shaped rods, you poke the business ends into holes to release the stereo.

Look at crutchfield.com to find the tool for your van.

Hope I helped.
__________________
2001 RB 7.3 Powerstroke 4WD.



https://sportsmobile4x4.blogspot.com/
panion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 12:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carmel Valley, CA
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to Skywagon
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

We're obviously not on the same page here. I was thinking about a Gizmo, and you guys are talking about a Thingy. I have a Kenwood and it definitely uses a tool/gizmo...
Bill
__________________
2008 RB 50 Pueblo gold, Diesel, 4X4, Aluminess
NO2B
Skywagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 02:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
SheepShagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 357
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

Use the Gizmo Thingy tools if you have them, if not pull the dog house forward and you can get to the clips on each side very easily. If you have a stereo with large LCD display, it's also worth wrapping the bottom of the cage that holds the stereo in some form of heat shield. LCD's hate heat and the bottom of the stereo gets extremely hot from the engine.

This is what I used.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/THE-13575/
SheepShagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 02:36 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

Rene, did you install a jack for your ipod to the stock Ford stereo? I'd like to do that, and can probably figure out how to get the stereo out with Din tools from the local auto parts store, but haven't been able to figure out what I'll need to install once I've gotten the thing out. Crutchfield.com had something for $150 that lets you control the ipod from the stereo controls (depending on which stereo you have), but I don't care about that and would hope to get the job done with a much cheaper cable. --Matt
PearGrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 03:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
carringb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 4,854
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

I add 3 RCA inputs to my Ford stereo. 1 input is connected to the DVD player, 1 to the Sirrius tuner, and the 3rd is connected to a mini headphone jack for connecting ipods or smartphones with Pandora. To add the inputs, you need a "PIE" adapter. There are 2 different versions. One for non-CAN based stereos (pre-2003) and one for CAN-based stereos (2003+) and they may have changed the inputs again with the 2009+ stereo (also CAN-based).
__________________
2000 E450 dually V10 wagon
carringb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 12:56 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
Re: in-dash radio access. worth the hassle?

I've got an after-market stereo installed from a previous owner. Sorry I can't help with the question about the stock radio, Matt. I went with the lazy way out and picked up a powered FM transmitter ($60 at Best Buy). There's a tiny bit of static between songs when no music is playing, but it's a pretty good way to get my tunes played... and I can move it to any of my vehicles.
__________________

crustyfish1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×