Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-18-2020, 11:45 AM   #1

Planar 44D Install-Diesel-E350

Planar 44D Install- Diesel- Thought it would be nice to have an in-depth Planar install.(likely covering some common sense things here but I'm a novice at best) so knowing some of the things below prior to getting into would have save someone time...hopefully...I don't have many pictures as my hands were typically covered in grime 95% of the time.

For the fuel tank drop we had...

Back of van was on jacks.

3 car jacks (you can get away with one)

Clean large shop2 people first two hours- 3 people last 3 hours (beer drinking and bs'ing subtract 30 mins or so)

For the install of the heater I did over about 5 days (rain rain rain) in my driveway

This video was extremely helpful:

Decided to install behind the drivers seat- plenty of room for intake/outflow and it's close to the fuel tank so the fuel line is relatively short. Recommend the larger install plate for the convenience (there still is zero room to wrench when everything is connect) but this gives you less chance for bloody knuckles
https://www.heatso.com/floor-mountin...r-air-heaters/
Should fit the Planar - didn't use it but wish I did. Planar specifically doesn't have this mounting plate- or at least I couldn't find it.

Bolts to mount the plate were a #10 inch and a half (just gave enough room to get a couple washers on + nylock nuts. Note- with the smaller mounting plate I had to put the bolts to mount the plate on and then connect the plate to the heater. When you mark your mounting holes- you don't have much room to get the 5/16 wrench on but it works.

Hole cut- roughed in the small plate- not much room to connect so I dry fit everything and then took it all apart- ran the exhaust and intake back up through the hole (make sure you file or grind down your hole and paint everything) connected everything.