Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2017, 09:56 AM   #1

Another Home Build Electrical Thread

So i'd say I'm fairly adept at most mechanical things on these vans but as my build reaches the electrical phase I'm pretty lost. I have very little knowledge other than basic automotive 12v wiring. I'm fine with lights and switches etc.
Luckily I found Flux's electrical diagram and will be following it for the most part. I'm still unsure of a couple of things though.

1) In the attached diagram (thanks for letting me pirate it) where would I wire in my inverter?
2) Also I have a 4D AGM that will mount underneath. Do I need to ground the negative to the frame and then run another neg wire to the shunt?
3) This one may really seem silly...In the diagram when there are wire intersections or splices of a couple of wires (dark red circles or black circles). What will these look like? A terminal post?
4) Would deleting the converter change the diagram layout?

I'm sure I'll have more questions as I'm a total newb at this.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Van-Wiring-Diagram-Rev-03_zpsfujfwiok.jpg  

saline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 10:11 AM   #2

I'm the hack that put that together and you are welcome to it by all means.

There are a few things on there that are not shown, like bus bars.

1) Your inverter should be wired into the house battery positive and negative on the frame ground side of the shunt.

2) Your House battery negative will go to one side of the shunt, then every thing else that grounds, including (and most importantly) the frame ground will be on the other side. This is so the monitor sees incoming and outgoing charges.

3) The circles are intersections, but should really be bus bars or posts on the battery switches or fuse terminals.

4) No, deleting the charger/converter would simply remove it. everything else is as should be.