Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-21-2021, 09:53 AM   #1

Batteries, propane, water in a small van

Hey guys

So I've mounted the solar panels to my roof, and I'm approaching the point where I'm going to install my batteries and such. I've been reading the instruction manuals for my components and I've realized that having components that have the potential to spark anywhere near a propane line or water line sounds terrifying. I'm building in an e250 and while I think I have the room to fit everything, I'm wondering if I should change my design.

does anyone have a propane system in their van that also has a solar system? What precautions did you take with the placement?

since I have no experience I almost just want to put all of the components that use water/propane on the opposite side of the van from the batteries, inverter, etc.

Any advice appreciated!

Chams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 10:53 AM   #2

Garage
My advice is to follow RVIA, NFPA standards and appliance mfgs intructions, exactly.
Old 06-21-2021, 11:56 AM   #3

Well, today I learned that safety standards can be behind a paywall.
Old 06-21-2021, 12:13 PM   #4

any way to get electronic copies of these?

NFPA 1192 Standard for RVs (2021 Edition) ( this can be viewed on the NFPA website if you create an account - so this one is covered)

ANSI/RVIA Low Voltage Systems in Conversion and RVs Standard (2020 Edition)
ANSI A119.5 Park Model Recreational Vehicle Standard (2020 Edition)
Old 06-21-2021, 01:31 PM   #5

Might be easier if you post the proposed layout. Virtually all RVs on the road share electrical (DC and AC) and propane in the same space. Sparking is not really an issue unless something is way wrong. If you have a propane leak you will likely know it by smell but they aren't common.