Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-20-2019, 09:13 AM   #1

Battery Charging

This question always comes up, how long does it take to charge up my house battery while driving, with solar or for that matter shore power. We always hear a lot of different answers.. The answers vary so much, for a lot of reasons, the size of the battery bank, how far it was discharged, how do you determine it is charged. So, I thought that maybe I would see if I could throw some data on the topic.

It just so happens that I like RV’s specifically my sportsmobile, I am also an engineer and love to collect data. And more importantly I have and installed and written programs that help me collect that data. It just seemed that I could naturally just try to collect some of this data and present it here.

The test platform will be my 2004 Sportsmobile V10 with a 140-amp alternator. I run a 2 awg cable from the starting battery back to the Blue Sea 7622 ACR. The ACR attaches to the Lifeline 4D battery, via 0/4 cable that runs from the Magnum MS2000 inverter/charger. I augment those charging systems with solar. I have a Morningstar Tristar TS-MPPT -60 solar controller, connected to two 180 Watt Grape Solar panels. I have a Pentametric battery monitor by Bogart Engineering, that allows me to monitor the House battery SOC, voltage, current, temp and amp hours. It also monitors current and amp hours to/from inverter/charger, current and amp hours from solar, and lastly the battery voltage of the starting battery.

Shore Power