RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2012, 10:56 AM   #1
Member
 
DocSavage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Black Hills South Dakota
Posts: 84
Carbon Monoxide Detector

I've read through a few threads and haven't found or missed the answer. Mine says replace by May 2010. I think we've passed that. I ordered what was advertised as the replacement for the CCI 3400.0 from MTI Industries, a RV 65-542. It looked great, faceplate slightly different color but same size and screw hole placement aligns. The problem is the electronics is bigger and won't fit in the hole the old one came out of. I see a few options and hope someone has found the perfect one

1. Buy a bird for the SMB and if it dies, open the doors
2. Cut the opening bigger to accommodate the electronics, I suck at this
3. Buy a battery powered surface mount detector and find a good place to secure it
4. Follow the advise of someone here who has broke the code
__________________

__________________
2015 Sprinter 4x4 RB-150
DocSavage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 11:15 AM   #2
Site Team
 
Ford_6L_E350's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington - Ridgefield
Posts: 4,726
Re: Carbon Monoxide Detector

The simplest way is to open the hole up to fit the new module.

If you can't do it, maybe you have friend or relative who can do it.

Or, let us know where you live, maybe someone here can help you, especially since many of us will face the same problem down the road.

Mike
__________________

__________________
SOLD04 EB350 Custom Floorplan
6.0 PSD 4.10 Posi
Salem Kroger coil spring 4wd
SMB Trailer w/AT Air Suspension
Alaska to Key West, Labrador and more
130685 miles 16.65 mpg average

Prostate cancer survivor. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11099
2015 VW GTI
Leaving CA for WA
Ford_6L_E350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,541
Carbon Monoxide Detector

At the moment I run without one. One of these days I will install a battery powered one.
__________________
Larrie
Read detailed trip reports, see photos and videos on my travel blog, luinil.com.
Visit my Patreon page: patreon.com/LarrieEasterly
Current van: 2002 Ford E350 extended body camper with Colorado Camper Van pop top and Agile Offroad 4WD conversion.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BrianW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,573
Re: Carbon Monoxide Detector

Mine also needs to be replaced. I think it's OEM from the 1998 build (and it doesn't work, anyway). Here's my question, though: if we don't have any "fired" appliances (heater, stove, etc.) do we need a CO2 detector? I assume so, as CO2 can build up from sleeping and stuff I guess. Or, is it just one of the regulations that isn't needed in the real world?

Better safe than sorry, though, I guess.
BrianW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Spenard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 204
Re: Carbon Monoxide Detector

if you ever use the engine to warm up the interior with the windows closed up you have a potential carbon monoxide hazard from holes in the exhaust system and or in the van body. Ditto if you use a portable stove or portable gas fired heater inside.

BTW: CO2 is carbon Dioxide which is not hazardous in most situations
__________________
Spenard
1991 VW Westy (N8IV) aka Vanna, of Ashland, OR
2012 Sprinter RB SMB PT (ALCES2) aka Moose, chill'n in Anchorage, AK
Spenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:38 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
yvrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 795
Re: Carbon Monoxide Detector

I replaced ours last year and ran into the same problem of not finding an exact replacement. But the install turned out to be fairly simple.

As I recall, I marked out the material (fabric covering and the wood behind it) to be removed with a marker pen and slowly cut it out with a variable-speed sawsall using a metal-cutting blade. (Since it has finer teeth than a wood-cutting blade, metal-cutting blade will cut slower and thus gives you more control.) If you don't have a sawsall, you can rent one. The biggest hassle was clearing out stuff stored in the van below the detector so that it won't get filled with sawdust. Note how the wires are hooked up to the old detector before you remove it...they will connect to the new one exactly the same way.
__________________
Jack
'01 Ford EB50p Quigley 4WD
yvrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
GreyDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: No fixed abode
Posts: 347
Re: Carbon Monoxide Detector

Where should a CO detector be placed? should it be at floor level, or is having it mounted on a tall cabinet OK?

Also, if you're going to use propane in the van, is there a propane detector that should be installed?


Thanks!
__________________
GreyDawg
2017 T-250 MR 148" 3.7L cargo van. Slowly becoming a campervan...
GreyDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,541
Carbon Monoxide Detector

CO detours can be located in the van. CO mixes uniformly in the space. Found that out when I was reading the install manual for the one I put in my house.

The propane sensor needs to be located near the floor because propane is heavier than air.
__________________
Larrie
Read detailed trip reports, see photos and videos on my travel blog, luinil.com.
Visit my Patreon page: patreon.com/LarrieEasterly
Current van: 2002 Ford E350 extended body camper with Colorado Camper Van pop top and Agile Offroad 4WD conversion.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,744
Carbon Monoxide Detector

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrie
CO detours can be located in the van. CO mixes uniformly in the space. Found that out when I was reading the install manual for the one I put in my house.

The propane sensor needs to be located near the floor because propane is heavier than air.
Great timing Larrie, I just ordered one for my cabinet build. I was going to put it at waist level but I guess I should go as low as possible? Do you think it's fine if it's RIGHT next to a direct vent furnace? I would think so but not sure as I've never used one.
__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.

Real name Eric
Finally found a pic of my first camper,
a 1986 Serro Scotty
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,541
Carbon Monoxide Detector

Here are the install instructions for MY propane sensor, yours may have different instructions. The not to install portion should answer your question.

__________________

__________________
Larrie
Read detailed trip reports, see photos and videos on my travel blog, luinil.com.
Visit my Patreon page: patreon.com/LarrieEasterly
Current van: 2002 Ford E350 extended body camper with Colorado Camper Van pop top and Agile Offroad 4WD conversion.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×