Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2015, 06:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Soquel California
Posts: 9
CPAP Use Overnight?

Hello. I have a 2003 SMB w/o a generator. I use a CPAP machine when I sleep and have not taken the van anywhere that does not have hook ups. Is there an inexpensive solution for me w/o having to buy a generator? Thanks!
__________________

OneWagonHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 06:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Posts: 466
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

I hooked up a cheap power inverter to an old motorcycle battery I had laying around to run my dad's CPAP. It lasted all night (he only tent camped with us for one night) but I don't know how many nights it could run without a recharge. That got the wheels turning in his head and it opened up a lot more possibilities for him to camp.

You'd be surprised how little power they actually draw as it really isn't much more than a tiny blower motor, the power requirements should be printed somewhere on the machine and I'd bet a small LiPo battery would run one for a long weekend.
__________________

TheLetterJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 07:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,048
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

Look at the data label on the CPAP and post the amp draw......does it run off of a wall wart?

...or take a photo of the data label and post it here.
__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 07:28 PM   #4
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,875
Garage
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

I'll do agree with the lithium battery solution provided the units draw is low enough to handle it. The battery would have to be rated high enough to power it throughout the night. In that case a separate power supply might be a good choice. But having a good house battery bank also goes a long way. I have about 420AH worth of battery reserves on board that can run my microwave for a few minutes w/o dropping the banks voltage below 12.2 volts. If the unit pulls low amps (4A or lower) I doubt you'd have an issue with a big battery bank. It all depends on the load.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 11:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sbgrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Durango, CO formerly Seattle
Posts: 149
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

My wife uses a CPAP in our SMB every night. We power it off a 175 watt Costco inverter that is plugged into our 12v system. Our 210 ah house battery can power that for 2 nights, plus fridge, lights (all LED now!), and a couple of hours with the laptop per day.

I haven't looked at the power draw on the CPAP, but it doesn't seem to be much. We did an 8 day kayak and raft trip down the lower Salmon and one of our party powered his CPAP every night with a deep cell marine battery without a recharge.
__________________
Bardo
--------------------
2005 RB-50 5.4L V8 E250 "Blanca"
sbgrimm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 07:26 AM   #6
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,196
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

Depending on your model, there are factory battery kits available.

http://www.cpap.com/productpage/cpap.co ... cable.html

Or a 12V power cord which will save you from having to use an inverter to convert DC to AC, and then back to DC.

http://www.cpap.com/productpage/respiro ... -cord.html


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
charlie56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: santa rosa ca
Posts: 994
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

I use a CPAP on every trip without issue. Does it use a wall wart to plug into your house outlet? If it is like mine (Respironics) it actually operates at a native 12 volts. I purchased the manufacturers "overly expensive" 12 volt plug and go directly into a 12v outlet in the rig. Bypass the inverter method as you are only taking 12v, changing it to 110v, then the CPAP is changing it back down to 12v. (Not very efficient.) I do run mine off the house battery, not the starter battery. The battery is a small 64Ah which runs the CPAP and refrigerator all night long. Voltage in the morning is between 12.3 and 12.4. It has been years since I checked, but the manufacturer's literature stated the draw of the CPAP was in the 3+ amp range. When I checked it, I found the running amps load was half that.

Also, if you have a humidifier option, leave that at home. It has a resistance heating coil in it that will raise your amp draw.
__________________
... Charlie
EV-2 build is now complete, (yeah right).
KZ6T
charlie56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:58 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,048
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie56
Does it use a wall wart to plug into your house outlet? If it is like mine (Respironics) it actually operates at a native 12 volts. I purchased the manufacturers "overly expensive" 12 volt plug and go directly into a 12v outlet in the rig. Bypass the inverter method as you are only taking 12v, changing it to 110v, then the CPAP is changing it back down to 12v. (Not very efficient.)
^^^^^^what he said

....a home brew cable and connectors for the cig lighter is probably $5.00......
__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 03:31 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 57
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneWagonHo
Hello. I have a 2003 SMB w/o a generator. I use a CPAP machine when I sleep and have not taken the van anywhere that does not have hook ups. Is there an inexpensive solution for me w/o having to buy a generator? Thanks!
I plug my cpap into the dc outlet in my SMB. It's a cigarette lighter type plug. I also have a power supply that lets the machine run off 110ac. Most all cpap's can run on 12v straight in. I also have a battery pack that I carry to jump start the van in case of problems and I can plug the cpap into that if need be. I use it at home in case of power failure.
bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 07:02 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Soquel California
Posts: 9
Re: CPAP Use Overnight?

Thank you everyone for taking the time to respond to my posting. I appreciate the insight.

The original owner of my van swapped out the house batteries due to replacement costs. There are batteries in there, but he rigged it up somehow where I can't use any of the plug in outlets unless I am hooked up to electricity. I imagine I could use my cigarette lighter to power it, but not sure if that has power when stopped, Ill have to check on that.

Here is my CPAP information:

ResMed
100-240V 50/60Hz
110V 400Hz 2.5A
DC: 12V, 2.5A

Again, thanks for the help with this. I really want to take the van and not have to worry about hooking up if just for a night or a few hours.
__________________

OneWagonHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×