Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-20-2010, 06:47 PM   #1
kcv

Electrified SMB

After dealing with a plethora of battery related issues, I was plugged into shore power and was checking fuses under the dash. Lo and behold, when I touched the metal frame under the dash I was surprised to find my van was electrified. I'm basically a novice still with electricity, though I've learned a lot after replacing batteries, separators, and soon-to-be Solara solar panels.

How would someone go about tracing the problem of an improperly grounded vehicle?

kcv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:57 PM   #2
Site Team

Garage
Re: Electrified SMB

AC power is polarized. Make sure your shore power is set up correctly. On a 110 outlet one side is ground and the other is hot. Many AC items don't care what side is ground or what side hot to work. But it does matter in some circumstances. I'm not saying this is your problem but sounds like it. They make testers that you can purchase at a place like Radio Shack which tells you the polarity is wrong in an AC receptacle.
http://www.gcaudio.com/resources/howtos/acpolarity.html

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 09:31 PM   #3

It sounds like you got a shock when you touched the metal frame under the dash. Is that right?

In order to get a shock, you must touch 2 things at different potentials, the dash metal and ???? What else were you touching when you felt the electricity? Chances are the dash metal is grounded, and you touched some other voltage source to get a shock.

Do you have an inverter in your van? Was it turned on or off?

Is your shore power and cord grounded?

Did you have a drop light or any other AC powered device in the van?

Mike
2012 E250 Hitop camper
Ford_6L_E350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 08:12 AM   #4