Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-19-2012, 01:53 PM   #1

Go Power! Solar Kits

Hello! I have been lurking around this board for inspiration and ideas on my recently started conversion of a 2008 Chevy Express 3500 extended cargo van. I've been researching electrical systems for the past few weeks and I recently came across a company called Go Power! that sells solar kits for rv's.

I am very interested in this package

I did a search but could not find any other threads discussing this company and their products. This package appeals to me as it meets my power needs and since I am a noob when it comes to electrical stuff. I like the idea buying all my gear from one company that has it all laid out for me and can offer support if problems occur (vs buying all the components individually and doing my best to piece them together properly).

I am hoping people here can give me some perspective on this company, the quality of their products, their price point etc

Do you guys think this is a good product and a good company? Over-priced? It retails for around $1600

Floydian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:00 PM   #2

Re: Go Power! Solar Kits

It looks sorta like it's OK, but hard to tell. Whether it's worth it depends on whether you need all that stuff. If you are having someone install it for you I'd recommend you consult with them before you buy it. By way of comparison you can get a Kyocera 180 watt panel for $300 from http://www.solar-electric.com; they're a very popular supplier for PV and RV folks. And you can get a 200W inverter from HarborFreight for $160 even before using a coupon. So not sure about the value.

Rob
Old 12-22-2012, 04:07 PM   #3