Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-15-2011, 12:44 PM   #1

Hella light wiring question

Hi All.....Newbie here with a question for any wiring wizards on the list.

I'm in the planning stages of mounting 3 Hella 4000i Hid's on the light bar of an Aluminess bumper. I have a fair amount of experience with lights from other projects but this is the first time I've installed a bank of three. The 40a relay I'm using is plenty stout to handle the load of the 3 HID's so that isn't an issue. The question is about how to wire the three lights to the relay. I can use a single 87 pole relay and run a one to three pigtail or I can use a dual 87 pole and run one single and a one into 2 pigtail. One side of my brain says even the load between the single 87 pole relay. The other side of my brain says to split the load between the dual 87 pole relay even if the draw on each terminal won't be even. Ray at Rallylights.com explained what he would do and it sounds like the way to go but I'm open to other opinions.

Another question for any of you Washingtonians on the list. Have you ever had a trooper give you grief about having 3 driving lights? The law says the limit is two. I will be running 2 fogs as well as the 3 drivers on the front of the van.

Thanks

John

Gnarvan 1992 E350 Clubwagon
Advanced 4WD Systems Conversion

Sotar Legend 12.5' X 22" Cataraft
2003 BMW R1150GS-Adventure
2013 BMW R1200GS-Adventure
Gnarvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 02:24 PM   #2

Re: Hella light wiring question

I've posted links to the WAC code before, but you are also allowed "spot lights". So just tell them the middle one is a spot light.

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=204-21

See sect 80-110

You're allowed:
- 2 fog
- 2 driving
- 2 spot
- 2 "auxiliary passing"