Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2011, 12:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Tapatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: California
Posts: 999
Garage
How should I wire up my air compressor?

I recently purchased a ARB 12V twin air compressor.
http://www.arbusa.com/uploads/PDF/ne...A12_retail.pdf

It pulls 28amps with no load and up to 50amps at full load.

What is the appropriate/best way to wire it?
A) On a seperate breaker through the SMB panel?
B) Directly to the 4D auxiliary battery?
c) Directly to one or both (6.0 PSD) of the van's engine batterie(s)?

Thanks for your responses.
__________________

__________________
2006 E350 6.0PSD 5R110, SMB 4X4, RB-50, ARB lockers front/rear, Aluminess galore, AMP steps.
Callsign KK6GIY
Tapatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 12:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
John and Dana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Normandy Park, WA
Posts: 362
Re: How should I wire up my air compressor?

SMB West wires then directly to the starting batteries on the diesels. I am not sure of the reasoning behind this other than on the diesels the batteries are very close to where they mount the compressor. If I had a choice I would prefer it run off the house battery so I wouldn't have to run the van while inflating tires. Nothing like inflating you RR tire with diesel exhaust blowing right in you face. MMMM!

John
__________________

__________________
'08 SMB 4X4 6.0PSD EB 50 (80K)
'98 Jeep Wrangler (356K)
'95 Chevrolet S-10 (148K)
'71 LT1 Corvette
John and Dana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 12:34 PM   #3
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,240
Re: How should I wire up my air compressor?

Looks like the ARB twin air compressor has a max current draw of 51 Amps.

The ExtremeAire compressors that SMB typically installs have a max current draw of 40 Amps.

Short periods of usage would be OK if tied to a battery that's not being charged, but I'd rather not have a compressor running for an extended air-up cycle (e.g. 30 minutes or longer) strictly from a battery.


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 07:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 7,601
Re: How should I wire up my air compressor?

Fuse it no doubt. You should fuse as close to the battery or + spot you choose.

Personally I'd go off the house so if it ran, leaked and ran repeatedly you wouldn't question your starter. For location I'd hit the house side of the separator with the + and then fuse the wire right there (2" or so to make the fuse easy to access)
__________________
and then
everything changed
jage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
SheepShagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 340
Re: How should I wire up my air compressor?

I'd use the house battery.
Battery->Fuse->wire run->relay->compressor

some fused +12v -> switch -> relay(used above) ->ground.

G8 wire from the battery to the fuse and fuse to relay & compressor, place the fuse as close to the battery as possible, the fuse is there to protect the wire not the compressor.
SheepShagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×