Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-01-2017, 01:55 PM   #1

Instant Pot while boondocking.

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting, though I'm sure not my last. We've had our Sportsmobile 144 for the last few months and have totally loved. We are getting ready to live out of our van with the family for two months this summer and would like some help figuring out what we can and cannot run off of out battery/solar system while boondocking

Specifically, we could like to know the feasibility of running our Instant Pot electrical pressure cooker without "zapping" our battery in a test trial. It looks like it use 1,000 watts on 110v. I believe that means is uses 9 amps (1,000w / 110v).

In regards to out system:
Inverter: Magnum 2,000w 100amp
Battery: AGM 4D (200ah)
Solar Panels: Zamp 100w x2

Energy Draw:
-Refrigerator: 2.7cf, 12v 2.5A
-Microwave: not used much.
Other than that, it's just the house lights.

Thanks for looking at this and we appreciate your help.

nwr

rj9294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 02:57 PM   #2

I totally thought this thread was about something else.
rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 02:58 PM   #3

As for your question, daveb is good at all this math stuff. Dave?
rallypanam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 03:14 PM   #4

Convert that 1000 Watt draw using 12 Volt as it comes back through your inverter. So that's an 83 Amp Draw really less your inverter efficiency. I don't know inverter efficiencies but let's just say it's 90%

then 83 Amps/0.90 inverter efficiency is 92 amps of draw at full power.

That's not great.

boywonder did some calcs on his electric hot water heater vs propane etc and it's pretty surprising how much energy propane actually has. I know I will be cooking over propane, Isobutane, or butane when camping.

Sorry to ruin your dinner.
Old 02-01-2017, 04:09 PM   #5