Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-07-2021, 03:31 PM   #1

Garage
Low house battery? carbon monoxide sensor beeping

Hi All,
I am a newbie. I just bought a 2004 ford E-350. My carbon monoxide sensor is beeping from a low battery. I suspect my house battery is not charging. I do not want to kill the battery. Can or should I disconnect the house battery? And how? I drove it 900 miles home; I believe the house battery was charged while driving. But now, at home, 2 days later, the carbon monoxide sensor is beeping. I have solar panels, but not sure if they work. Or if I have the correct sequence of the switch on/off. I am overwhelmed. I posted photos to help explain. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
carbon monoxide sensor.jpg   house charger.jpg   proline.jpg   inverter.jpg   under seat breakers.jpg  

fuses.jpg  

Berta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 03:38 PM   #2

Garage
First off, and important for safety, the carbon monoxide sensors have expiration dates (usually posted on the front, and normally lasting about 5-6 years) yours expired in 2007.

If 7.9 is you battery voltage, you have a problem. Are you currently plugged into shore power with that reading?

EDIT: On you Mark controller, you can slide the switch down one notch so it sits on "array current" - that would show you how much Solar is being absorbed - depending on the amount of Sun hitting the panel, you should see some voltage recording - at least you'll have an idea if its working (how much solar do you have on the roof?).

I would also suggest you flip your breakers to "off" position when you are not using the Van.
Old 01-07-2021, 03:42 PM   #3

Garage
No, I am not plugged into shore power. I can get a new sensor. after driving around the voltage is about 13.
Old 01-07-2021, 03:45 PM   #4

Sort out your electric before buying a new sensor.